Desperation made me accept a technical support job!

The world was my oyster!  I was in the final year of my four year Management  Information Systems degree and was pumped for a promising career in the growing world of IT.   The tech sector was booming and my friends had already landed incredible jobs as business analysts, consultants, product managers, and the list goes on.   Surely it was just a matter of time till I got my dream job.   I wasn’t nervous about my paying off my enormous mountain of student loan debt nor was I having second thoughts about accumulating more debt while going out and partying with friends.

Fast forward three months and I still didn’t have a job. I had many interviews and got a few offers for technical support jobs but I was holding out for something more exciting.  Fast forward another 3 months and the anxiety was  building and I was having severe panic attacks.   I was on the hook to start paying off my student loans and was getting more and more jealous of my fellow graduates.   I had no other choice but to accept an entry level technical support job.  And so began my journey on my miserable career in technical support.

I recently reflected on the years of my career that I “wasted” dwindling in technical support.  For what seemed like forever I never thought I’d be able to get out and be able release my creativity while progressing in my career.    It was a tough rut but now, over 8 years since starting my first job out of school I am enjoying a great career in product management.

Are you in a support job struggling with how to define a new career path?  Do you go through bouts of self-doubt and anxiety about where to take your career?  If so, please share your story in the comments.

In my upcoming blog posts i’ll share the struggles I had and how I overcame them.  I hope these stories will inspire you to take your career into your own hands right now so that you can move your career to the next level sooner than I did in my career.

Subscribe to my blog and get notified of any new posts.

Leave a comment